Swiss Alps Jungfrau-Aletsch UNESCO World Heritage Site

The impressive mountain world of Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau, the Great Aletsch Glacier and the fascinating Aletsch Forest with its primeval larches and Swiss stone pines, the ancient cultivated landscapes of the Baltschieder Valley and the Valaisian rocky steppe surrounding the Bietschhorn are all part of this uniquely diverse and beautiful landscape and since 2001 have been part of the first UNESCO World Natural Heritage Site in Switzerland.


On 13 December 2001, the UNESCO World Heritage Committee approved the inclusion of the largest glaciated region in the Alps in the list of the UNESCO World Natural Heritage Sites.

Inclusion criteria

The region was awarded this honor based on the following criteria:


  • Outstanding example of the formation of the Alps
  • A wide range of natural phenomena and processes
  • Extraordinary natural beauty


Perimeter and expansion

At the time, the region added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites covered an area of 539 square kilometers (208 square miles). When the World Heritage Committee expanded the perimeter on June 28, 2007, the World Heritage Site was enlarged by 285 square kilometers (110 square miles) to an impressive 824 square kilometers (318 square miles). The site now extends from Grimsel in the east to the Blümlisalp and Doldenhorn group in the west.